Sound Shapes Ideas

Post your Echotopia feature requests here. A good idea is to search or ask first on the Echotopia General Discussions forum to see if the feature already exists.
mariosioan

I just started playing with Echotopia and I think a rotate function on the rectangle would be very useful (and to the circle too, if you can transform it non-uniformly). Maybe a "lasso" type of shape could be very effective in order to custom shapes and accuracy.
Last edited by mariosioan on 07 Jan 2022 17:31, edited 1 time in total.
caffeinatedinsanity

I can see the usefulness of rotating the rectangles but Idk if making non-uniform shapes would be all that good for making a realistic blending of the sounds. But maybe I'm misunderstanding how it works
mariosioan

For example, a river is a more complex shape. It can run in a line horizontally/vertically, but also diagonally (so there is a need for rotation). At the image attached, there is the need for a custom shape for the river (there is the solution to put many small circles/rectangles to cover it all, but I don't know how it will work with blending and is not an optimal solution).
Attachments
d05sij6moj131.jpg
d05sij6moj131.jpg (143.55 KiB) Viewed 4469 times
Pan Athen
SoundFellas Crew

This is one of the most discussed topics in our HQ as well.

You both are right and there are many more ways to implement audio mapping in 2D.

For example:

1. A multi-point line can emit sound and use it on a river while parallel zones can be drawn from each side of the line for fade zones.
  2. Everything could be a brush, even the different zones of an area. I personally dislike that because I used it as a tool in an MMORPG that had the same needs as Echotopia and it was proved to be more work and difficult to paint the details for some users.